Kolkata Derby: A history of Stats!

Published by Sabyasachi C on

Last Updated 12:09 PM 19th January 2020 .

Another Kolkata Derby is on the cards today at the Salt Lake Stadium with both teams looking to keep their hunt for the I-League title alive.

Let us look at the statistics of the historical Kolkata Derby ahead of today’s game:

NFL/I-League Derbies:

East Bengal FC and Mohun Bagan will be facing each other for the 45th time in the NFL/I-League today.

Played: 44
East Bengal won: 17
Mohun Bagan won: 14
Draws: 13

Overall Record in Competitive Matches:

The Kolkata Derby has been a part of Indian football history since it was first played on 8 August 1921 in the Cooch Behar Cup Semi Final which ended in a 0-0 draw.

The first IFA accredited Kolkata Derby happened on 25th May 1925 in the Calcutta Football League which was won by the Red and Gold Brigade by a solitary goal from Nepal Chakraborty.

Overall Record in Competitive Matches (including minor tournaments):

Played: 352
East Bengal won: 127
Mohun Bagan won: 110
Draws: 115

Individual Records:

There have been many individual records in the Kolkata Derby history which have made unknown names into household heros.

Fastest goal in I-League Derby: Dipanda Dicka (55 seconds, 2017-18, Mohun Bagan)
Fastest goal in Derby history: Md. Akbar (16 seconds, 1976, Mohun Bagan)
Most Goals in Kolkata Derby: Bhaichung Bhutia (19, 13 for EB and 6 for MB)
Hattricks in Kolkata Derbies: 4 so far in the history,
Amiya Deb (4 goals, Dharbhanga Shield, 5 Sep 1934, Mohun Bagan)
Asit Ganguly (3 goals, Raja Memorial Shield, 6 Aug 1937, Mohun Bagan)
Bhaichung Bhutia (3 goals, Federation Cup, 13 July 1997, East Bengal FC)
Chidi Edeh (4 goals, I-League, 25 Oct 2009, Mohun Bagan)


Leave a Reply

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap