East Bengal Reserves becomes Darjeeling Gold Cup Champions

Published by Sabyasachi C on

Last Updated 5:36 PM 23rd December 2018 .

East Bengal reserves have won the Darjeeling Gold Cup title for the 5 time (1976, 81, 82, 85, 2018) defeating Mohammedan Sporting 3-1 in the final via penalty shootout after it ended goalless even after Extra time.

The game was scratchy all round as both teams failed to break the deadlock. The ground conditions made the situation worse as it can hardly be called playable.

East Bengal ‘B’ consisted of senior players like Surabuddin Mollick, Kaushik Sarkar, Hira Mondal, Mirshad. Mohammedan Sporting fielded a full side with 3 foreigners including Phillip Adjah who scored against East Bengal in the Calcutta Football League. Mirshad made some good saves during the game and made sure the East Bengal goal was unbreached. Srikumar Karjee of East Bengal had the best chance in the second half of the game when his headed shot missed by inches. The game ended goalless after Extra time and penalties were to follow.

Mohammedan Sporting took the first penalty kick. Prasenjit Chakraborty made a mess of the attempted “Panenka” and the ball was easily grabbed by Mirshad. Hira Mondal took East Bengal’s first kick and scored to give a 1-0 lead. Mohammedan missed the next penalty too while East Bengal increased their lead to 2-0. Both the teams scored their third kick and it was 3-1. Mohammedan Sporting had to score their 4th kick but it was Mirshad’s day has he saved the kick elegantly as East Bengal ‘Reserves’ became the Champions of the Darjeeling Gold Cup after 33 years.


Leave a Reply

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap